yoga gone goofy!

laughter

I recently did laughter yoga and had seriously no idea what I was getting myself into before I went.  Needless to say it was super fun & a tiny bit of a workout.  ðŸ™‚  Laughter yoga is global and has it’s own chants and lingo.  You do not need to wear yoga clothes or relaxing clothes.  At some classes you will end up on the ground at the end but there were people who opted for chairs instead.  I wasn’t so hot about laying on the ground of a library but I did anyway.  

When I first walked in the instructor greeted me and said we would get started in about 5 minutes.  I said “do i need a yoga mat” and she said of course not.  I mean I literally didn’t know what I was walking into.  She said if anyone had to go to the bathroom to go now- I could imagine people have peed themselves laughing???  ah!  Cross that career out if you have a weak bladder!  Anyway then we started with clapping our hands and saying “ho ho — ha, ha, ha”  It’s actually very catchy and I actually think of that chant quite often.  The next thing we did was form a circle and walk around the circle and cheer like we have just won the world series.  That was my favorite exercise for sure!! Then we formed a conga line minus the conga- and pretended as if we were on a bus.  We pretended we were site seeing & we talked gibberish.  Oh some of the exercises we did were ridiculous but fun.  At the end of the 1 hour laughter yoga I felt more free and I felt bonded with the other people who attended.  Maybe laughter creates an emotional connection to people.  Some people even hit an endorphin high and couldn’t stop laughing.  I don’t think I hit that high but it was much easier to laugh & I began laughing at the most ridiculous things after that.  Going once a week to laughter yoga would be great therapy for people- it could really snap people out of a depression or rut in life.  For me personally I think I would be good with going once every other week.  

The effects after laughter yoga lasted a few days.  ðŸ™‚ 

Laughing-yoga

here’s a video that you can check out

http://www.laughteryoga.org/english/laughteryoga

2 thoughts on “yoga gone goofy!

  1. Boo says:

    Great post! I’ve practiced yoga too but only focus on getting my core stronger. Thinking of yoga, I will imagine a quiet and peacful environment, not kind of class as you described. But laughter yoga seems fantastic! I’ll look for it to try it someday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alittlebitoflaura says:

    I did this a few years ago with a close friend of mine and I can honestly say it was extremely therapeutic! There was little to no physical yoga … But I can tell you that I was genuinely laughing (hard) from the middle to end of the class! It was great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

