The Neighborhood That I’m Starting to Love: South Lake Union

slu

You gotta love the place where you’re living. After all, it is where you’re going to start, build and maintain relationships and memories. I didn’t exactly like the comments that were told to me about my new neighborhood, South Lake Union. First of all, before I moved here, I was warned that South Lake Union was sketchy with lots of homeless people and wasn’t the safest. Of course, you need to be aware of your surroundings but now that I am here, what I see, mostly, are young professionals. It is like Amazon kingdom- most people in the neighborhood work at Amazon.  It is a newly developed area and it is developing quickly. My neighborhood is quiet considering it is only about a mile from downtown. I’m so happy with our move and I am happy to not have to move anytime soon. I live by a park and a building that Amazon recently bought.  The park, I admit, is a bit shady. On Sundays, they do a free food giveaway and it obviously attracts mostly the homeless but I think that it is great that the community does that once in a while. I say to myself, my husband and my babies, welcome to South Lake Union! Also found this interesting feature of SLU and excited to take part in these activities!

jen's sig for emails

Leave a Reply

